The Coburg Riding Hall (Coburger Reiterhalle) is in the immediate vicinity of Ehrenburg Palace (Schloss Ehrenburg). It was built in 1852 according to the plans of master builder Georg Konrad Rothbart. The sculptural horse’s head in the tondo directly above the pointed arch portal was created by Theodor Behrens. [German]
The Cranachhaus (Cranach House) with the number 11 is the left of two nearly identical buildings on the market square of Weimar. It was built in the years 1547 to 1549 by the Renaissance architect Nikolaus Gromann for the ducal chancellor Christian Brück. [German]
This post office building at the Kapuzinerplatz was built in the year 1937. The architecture is pretty Alpine, the oriel is modeled on the Golden Roof (Goldenes Dachl) in Innsbruck. The decorations on the oriel show different mail services in course of time.
Right next to the buildings of the Francke Foundations I came across this fascinating architecture. It’s the headquarter of the German Federal Cultural Foundation (Kulturstiftung des Bundes). The purpose of this foundation is to promote and fund art and culture within the framework of federal responsibility.
In Rostock there are a lot of colourful gabled houses to see. It is big fun to walk through the streets and to count how many different gables you discover. Even this gable of a new built building next to the old city hall has something decorative to offer.
This building of a mutual savings bank (Sparkasse) was built in 1900 in the style of neo-Gothic. For this reason two older houses were demolished, e.g. the Reichlhaus. An interesting details is the writing on top of it, which uses the outdated term Sparcassa.
The building with the address Enge Gasse 5 has late Gothic origins and a Baroque facade created in the second quarter of the 18th century. It is generally known as the ‘Zum Andreas Hofer’ inn (Gasthaus ‘Zum Andreas Hofer’).
The Old Exchange (Alte Handelsbörse) was built in the 17th century in the early baroque style as a representative building where merchants could meet. Today, the hall serves for musical and literary events, company presentations and conferences, festive receptions and private parties.
The former cigarette factory building was built by architect Martin Hammitzsch in 1907. The name of the company refered to the Ottoman place Yenidze (the Greek Genisea of today) where the tobacco was bought from. Today the edifice serves as office building.