Two UNESCO World Heritage Sites are to be found on the urban area of Dessau-Roßlau. The photo shows the Roman ruins of the Garden Realm of Dessau-Wörlitz known as the “Seven Pillars“. Between the pillars shimmers the reconstruction of a Trinkhalle, the original of which was designed by Ludwig Mies van der Rohe. [German]
Immediately behind the structure you will find the Master’s Houses, which belong to the world heritage site “Bauhaus”.
When Oskar Schlemmer was appointed to the Bauhaus in Weimar, he took over the management of the mural painting workshop, among other functions. Some of his works can be seen as reconstructions in the Van de Velde building. In the period from 1919 to 1925, this building was used as a workshop building of the State Bauhaus Weimar. [German]
The Bauhaus building Dessau was built in the years 1925 – 1926 to plans by Walter Gropius.It served as a school building for the Bauhaus art, design and architecture school. Since 1996 it has been a UNESCO World Heritage Site. [German]
The “Seven Pillars” (Sieben Säulen) represent an artificial Roman ruin in Georgium. Thus, an English-style landscape park in Dessau-Roßlau is called. Together with the Wörlitzer Park, this forms the UNESCO World Heritage Site “Garden Kingdom of Dessau-Wörlitz”. The name of the building raises a question: why does it have eight pillars? [German]
In the years 1928-1930, the federal school of the ADGB Trade Union was established in Bernau bei Berlin. The architects were Hannes Meyer and Hans Wittwer. The building is considered a significant example of Bauhaus architecture. [German]
The Bauhaus Archive in Berlin was built in 1979. Since then, it has collected literature, documents and works related to the Bauhaus.The founder of the Bauhaus Walter Gropius participated in the design. The characteristic shed roofs go back to his plans. [German]
Jagdschloss Falkenlust is a hunting lodge in Brühl. Together with Augustusburg Palace (Schloss Augustusburg) and the park grounds, Falkenlust hunting lodge forms an ensemble. In 1984 this ensemble has been inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List. [German]
Augustusburg Palace (Schloss Augustusburg) was built in Brühl in the 18th century. Jagdschloss Falkenlust and Schloss Augustusburg form an ensemble and, together with the castle grounds, have been listed as a UNESCO World Cultural Heritage since 1984. [German]
A poster promoting the nomination of the Saale-Unstrut valley for UNESCO World Heritage Site. There are several posters displaying local personalities as well as examples of the cultural gems in this region. At the depicted poster found in Naumburg (Saale) you can see Reglindis, one of twelve donator portraits inside Naumburg Cathedral.
This door was the former main entrance of Johann Wolfgang Goethe’s home in Weimar. Today the building houses the Goethe National Museum and is part of the World Cultural Heritage Site ‘Classical Weimar’.