The Mineral Museum is housed in a modern-looking building in a quiet district of Bad Hofgastein. The collector of the pieces is often present and then likes to tell the story of the pieces he has collected. [German]
The Knappenwelt (Pitmen’s World) is a compilation of structural evidence of late medieval gold and silver smelting in Pongau. The reconstructed plant shows a roasting furnace, a smelting furnace and a cupellation furnace as they were in operation from 1490 to 1520. During guided tours, the water-powered stamp battery is demonstrated. [German]
In this summer house former owned by Josef von Eggenwald (Eggenwaldsches Gartenhaus) the Peace Treaty of Leoben was signed between the Holy Roman Empire and the First French Republic on April 18th, 1797. This was an important event in the end of the ‘War of the First Coalition’. Today it houses a dependence of the museum for local history.
The Schützenhaus was built in the years 1904 – 1908 according to plans by Otto Wagner. The building was part of a planned weir. The name Schützenhaus refers to the control gates (Schütze) used in such weirs. Today, the building houses a restaurant called “Otto Wagner Schützenhaus”. [German]
This monument to Wilhelm von Tegetthoff stands next to the railway station Praterstern in Vienna. The column was designed by Carl von Hasenauer, the statue is a work by Carl Kundmann. Wilhelm von Tegetthoff was an Austrian admiral and became famous for the victory of Lissa (1866). [German]
This monument in the spa gardens (Kurpark) of Bad Ischl is reminiscent of Franz Wirer von Rettenbach, who is considered the founder of the first Austrian saline water health spa in this place. Remarkable in the design of the memorial, I find the extraordinary size of the bust. [German]
The Majolikahaus was built in 1898. The building was designed by Otto Wagner, the floral design on the façade was created by his student Alois Ludwig. The name of the house refers to the fact, that the façade is revetted with Maiolica ([ger.] = Majolika) elements.
This statue of Saint John of Nepomuk is located at a building named Ehemschiedhaus. The buildings is dating back to 13th century, the sculpture was created in the first half of 18th century. Love the levitating angel above his head.
At the Schell Collection, also known as Museum of Keys (Schlüsselmuseum), you can learn a lot about keys, locks, chests and jewellery boxes. Another focus is on decorative ironwork used for house signs, grave crosses, windows and doors.