The Tucher Mansion (Tucherschloss) was completed in 1544 and served as summer residence for the Tucher family, a patrician family in Nuremberg. The museum inside shows how such a patrician family lived in those times. I was especially impressed by the furniture displayed in the rooms of the mansion.
This sculpture represents a female hare. It is located on Tiergärtnertorplatz within sight of the Albrecht Dürer House. The artwork was created in 1984 by Jürgen Goertz. No doubt he plays with his work on the Young Hare, which was painted in 1502 by Albrecht Dürer. [German]
More than thirty nativity scenes can be visited in the city of Bamberg. These are spread over the entire town and invite you to an exciting exploration of cribs as well as the places of Bamberg. The range extends from historical to modern models. [German]
The Christmas market on the market square of Coburg is framed by Renaissance facades and several corner oriels, which are known as Coburger Erker. Between the historic town hall and the former ducal chancery, visitors enjoy the Coburger Bratwurst, a saussage which is traditionally roasted over an open fire of pine cones. [German]
The manhole covers in Coburg show the city arms. They display the head of Saint Maurice, the patron of the city. According to legend, Saint Maurice died as leader of the Theban Legion a martyr’s death in the 3rd century. In general, this depiction of him is known as Coburger Mohr (Coburg Moor). [German] Continue reading →
This sculpture was created in 1987 by Polish artist Igor Mitoraj. It is located near the Old Town Hall on the Lower Bridge in Bamberg. In the background you can see Michelsberg Abbey, which is currently being renovated. [German]
The Coburg Riding Hall (Coburger Reiterhalle) is in the immediate vicinity of Ehrenburg Palace (Schloss Ehrenburg). It was built in 1852 according to the plans of master builder Georg Konrad Rothbart. The sculptural horse’s head in the tondo directly above the pointed arch portal was created by Theodor Behrens. [German]
Ehrenburg palace (Schloss Ehrenburg) was the residence palace of the dukes of Saxe-Coburg until 1918. It was built in the 16th century from a Franciscan monastery. The present façade in English Gothic Revival style was designed by Karl Friedrich Schinkel in the beginning of the 19th century. [German]
The Erlangen City Museum is housed in the former town hall of the Old Town (Altstadt) on Martin- Luther-Platz. In five sections it shows the history of the city from its beginnings to the 20th century. Especially worth seeing is the depiction of the history of the Huguenots. [German]
During the Christkindlesmarkt, the traditional christmas market of Nuremberg, one have the chance to ride on a 1939 reproduction of a nine-seater Berlin with two coupés from 1874. The stagecoach is supplied by the Museum for Communication which is also worth a visit.