The ‘Seehas’ is a rail link between Konstanz and Engen. The name doesn’t derive from the existing fish ‘Seehase‘ (lumpsucker), but from a fabulous creature supposed to live in the western part of Lake Constance. People there believe the ‘Seehas’ is a hybrid of a rabbit and a fish. [German]
The Basilica of St. Vitus (Münster St. Vitus) is located on the Abteiberg in Mönchengladbach. Together with the town hall and the Church of the Assumption (Kirche St. Mariä Himmelfahrt), it forms the historical centre of the city. Worth seeing is the Bible window from the 13th century in the choir of the church. [German]
The Petersberg Citadel is a well-preserved city-fortress in the centre of Erfurt. It was hardly destroyed in wars and escaped the demolition in the 19th century. A tour along the old guard’s path provides insights into the fortress architecture and panoramic views of the city’s sights. [German]
The old town hall (Altes Rathaus) of Bamberg was first mentioned in 1387. It is famous for its location on an artificial island in the Regnitz River and for the façade created by Johann Anwander. Today it houses a collection of Meissen porcelain and Strassbourg faience, generally known as Ludwig Collection Bamberg (Sammlung Ludwig Bamberg).
The Saalburg in Hesse is part of the Upper Germanic-Rhaetian Limes which is also known as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Inside the reconstructed structures of a typical Roman fort, a museum tells about the life of the soldiers along the border.
The edifice was built as a theatre by architect Wilhelm Vernukken in the years 1603/1606. The commissioner was Landgraf Moritz, who named the Ottoneum after his son Otto. Today, a natural history museum is housed here. Well-known collection pieces are a Xylotheque and the Ratzenberger Herbarium. [German]
It was really a cold day when I took this photo of a frozen fountain on the grounds of the Würzburg Residence (Würzburger Residenz). The Baroque palace which was completed in 1744 is part of the UNESCO World Heritage List.
The former moated castle is considered one of the best-preserved castles in the Rhineland. Its origins date back to the 12th century. Today, the walls of Satzey Castle (Burg Satzvey) serve as a venue for knight games and medieval festivals. [German]
On the manhole covers in Füssen you can see the local city arms. Even though the name of the town origins from a latin word (fauces) the coat of arms refers to the later interpretation of the word Füssen which sounds like the German term Füße. Especially in Bavarian areas, this term is used for legs.
The manhole covers in the Thuringian capital Erfurt show the city arms. The wheel in this coat of arms is derived from the Wheel of Mainz (Mainzer Rad). This is an indication of the time when Erfurt formed part of the archbishopric of Mainz. [German]