The Johannbau, a wing of the former Residenzschloss Dessau, houses the Dessau City Museum (Museum für Stadtgeschichte). The edifice was built in the style of Early Renaissance and is a remain of the palace which was destroyed in World War II. [German]
The “Seven Pillars” (Sieben Säulen) represent an artificial Roman ruin in Georgium. Thus, an English-style landscape park in Dessau-Roßlau is called. Together with the Wörlitzer Park, this forms the UNESCO World Heritage Site “Garden Kingdom of Dessau-Wörlitz”. The name of the building raises a question: why does it have eight pillars? [German]
The Anhalt Theater (Anhaltisches Theater) in Dessau-Roßlau has one of the largest revolving stages in Germany. The building was built in 1938 and rebuilt after its destruction in World War II. The quote “Begegnen wir der Zeit, wie sie uns sucht” (Meet the time as it seeks us) origins from a play by Wilhelm Shakespeare. [German]
In the years 1928-1930, the federal school of the ADGB Trade Union was established in Bernau bei Berlin. The architects were Hannes Meyer and Hans Wittwer. The building is considered a significant example of Bauhaus architecture. [German]
The Bauhaus Archive in Berlin was built in 1979. Since then, it has collected literature, documents and works related to the Bauhaus.The founder of the Bauhaus Walter Gropius participated in the design. The characteristic shed roofs go back to his plans. [German]
This illustration of a Triceratops is one of several animal representations on the outer walls of the Aquarium Berlin. In 1913, this edifice was built on the grounds of the Zoological Garden in the Tiergarten district. [German]
This manhole cover displays the cathedral of Naumburg (Saale). The German full name is Naumburger Dom St. Peter und St. Paul. The cathedral dates back to 13th century and is part of the tourist route Romanesque Road (Straße der Romanik) in Saxony-Anhalt.
The museum for Lower Saxon ethnology and history was built in the years 1903/07 by architect Alfred Sasse in the style of historicism. Originally the museum was named Vaterländisches Museum (National Museum) but has been renamed after his founder Wilhelm Bomann in 1928. [German]
The manhole covers in Kühlungsborn show the city arms. The coat of arms displays three silver seagulls in a blue field. The title Ostseebad refers to the fact, that Kühlungsborn is a seaside resort on the Baltic Sea (Ostsee).