The coat of arms of Neunkirchen displays nine churches which refer to the meaning of the current city name (“Nine Churches”). Even though these city arms are a great example for canting arms the place was never known for nine churches. Actually the name origins from “new church”, a description which was used in the first mention of the place in 1094.
This sundial is placed on the facade of a 16th-century building located at the main square of Neunkirchen. The city is the capital of the district of Neunkirchen in the Austrian state of Lower Austria.
The pilgrimage church of Maria Taferl (Wallfahrtsbasilika Maria Taferl) is after the pilgrimage church of Mariazell the second most import pilgrimage church of Austria. Since 1947 the church has been granted the title basilica minor.
The archaeological open-air site next to Asparn Castle (Schloss Asparn) belongs to the MAMUZ Museum of Prehistory in the Austrian region of Weinviertel.. Covering an area of 19,000 m2 reconstructed buildings dating from the Palaeolithic Age up to the Iron Age are displayed. [German]
This stone bridge was built in 1554 by Valentin Staudinger. The bridge using a rock in the middle of the river is considered to be the oldest still existing bridge crossing the Erlauf river. The name ‘Roman Bridge’ (Römerbrücke) for a 16th century bridge is odd but there is an assumption that the Romans used the same rock as base for their bridge.