The building N° 38 situated on the Linke Wienzeile (6. District) was designed by Otto Wagner. The golden ornaments created Koloman Moser. The building is placed next to the Naschmarkt, one of the most popular markets in Vienna. [German]
This building was built in 1899/1901 for the company Portois & Fix by the architect Max Fabiani. The façade is decorated by tiles produced in the Hungarian porcelain manufacture Zsolnay. The pattern of the façade was designed by using tiles with two different shades of green. [German]
The Schützenhaus was built in the years 1904 – 1908 according to plans by Otto Wagner. The building was part of a planned weir. The name Schützenhaus refers to the control gates (Schütze) used in such weirs. Today, the building houses a restaurant called “Otto Wagner Schützenhaus”. [German]
This monument to Wilhelm von Tegetthoff stands next to the railway station Praterstern in Vienna. The column was designed by Carl von Hasenauer, the statue is a work by Carl Kundmann. Wilhelm von Tegetthoff was an Austrian admiral and became famous for the victory of Lissa (1866). [German]
The Majolikahaus was built in 1898. The building was designed by Otto Wagner, the floral design on the façade was created by his student Alois Ludwig. The name of the house refers to the fact, that the façade is revetted with Maiolica ([ger.] = Majolika) elements.
This memorial is dedicated to the journalist and esoteric Rudolf Joseph Lorenz Steiner. Rudolf Steiner (1861-1925) is considered the founder of anthroposophy. The monument was erected in 1981 in the Swiss Garden (Schweizergarten) in Vienna. The bronze relief is a work by the artist Elisabeth Oling-Jelinek. [German]
A chance to see the famous Lipizzan horses of the Spanish Riding School for free is having a look into the Stallburg which is placed next to the Spanish Riding School. There you can see the horses standing in their boxes waiting for their next training or performances.
The Loos House (Looshaus) is considered a central building of the Viennese Modern Age (Wiener Moderne). It was designed around 1910 by architect Adolf Loos. Because of the missing decorative elements above the windows, the Viennese called this building “The house without eyebrows”. [German]