Castles in Germany

Pfalzgrafenstein Castle in Kaub, Germany

Germany is divided in 16 Bundesländer (Federated States). The architecture of castles differs from state to state as their purpose is different too. The most import terms regarding castles are Burg (Castle), Schloss (Palace), Festung (Fortress) and Herrenhaus (Manor).

Castles in Austria

View of Schloss Schönbrunn taken from Gloriette

Austria is divided into nine provinces. Eight of them are dominated by a lot of castles and fortresses, the ninth province named Vienna, which is also the capital city of Austria, is dominated by a lot of palais.