The orangery of Schwerin Castle (Schloss Schwerin) was built in 1853. During the era of the German Democratic Republic, the rooms were used as a Polytechnic Museum for a few years. Today, during the warm seasons, visitors can enjoy cakes and coffee in the Orangerie Café. [German]
The ****Hotel Speicher am Ziegelsee is located inside a former granary dating back to 1939. The edifice is situated next to a lake named Ziegelsee so guests can reach the hotel by boat. The sign HOTEL SPEICHER is actually the sign of the boat station.
Schwerin is the capital city (LANDESHAUPTSTADT) of the German state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. The manhole covers display the city arms in the style of 1991. The knight symbolizes Henry the Lion (Heinrich der Löwe), the founder of Schwerin.
The traditional shop generally known as ‘Das alte Handelshaus‘ (The old merchant house) is situated at the address Schmiedestraße 11. Today it houses a chain store of a tea merchant (Tee-Maass). Even though it is a tea shop you can buy a lot of different goods, e.g. a coffee named after a local ghost: Petermännchen Kaffee.
The Gallery of Old & New Masters (Galerie Alte & Neue Meister) in Schwerin is part of the State Museum Schwerin (Staatliches Museum Schwerin). The building designed by architect Hermann Willebrand was opened in 1882.
The Petermännchen (Little Peterman) is a good-natured household spirit who is said to live in the Schwerin Palace. He is rewarding those who are honest and good but punishs thieves and intruders. Today it is a sort of mascot and one can see him in many parts of the city life. There is even a coffee named after him: Petermännchen Kaffee. Continue reading →