Master builder Peter Carlone built this tower in 1615. In the beginning, the name of this building referred to its function. It was called Mautturm (toll tower). After getting its unique roof in 1794, the name Schwammerlturm (mushroom tower) became common.
In this summer house formerly owned by Josef von Eggenwald (Eggenwaldsches Gartenhaus), the Peace Treaty of Leoben was signed between the Holy Roman Empire and the First French Republic on April 18th, 1797. This signing was an important event at the end of the “War of the First Coalition”. [German]
Locomotives of the Austrian Federal Railways (OBB) offer advertising space for companies and organisations. This locomotive seen in Leoben promotes EKO Cobra, Austria’s primary counter-terrorism unit. Mind the friendly snake in the front part of the loco!
The Maßenburg is a castle ruin on a hill high over Leoben. It was probably first built in 13th century. Today hikers have there a great view of Leoben from a viewing tower built on the ruins of a former watch tower.
An interesting detail seen at a celebration for miners in Leoben. The miners are wearing a so called ‘Arschleder’ (German), also known as breech leather or miner’s apron. It served to keep the seat of the trousers from wearing out when sliding down to the tunnels as well as keeping out the cold and moisture when sitting.