The library was founded at the beginning of the 18th century by August Hermann Francke for the teachers and pupils at the schools of the Francke Foundations. The edifice built in the years 1726-1728 is regarded as Germany’s oldest surviving secular library building. [German]
In the baroque magazine about 120,000 prints are placed. The topics cover mainly theology, religious history, pedagogy and history of the eighteenth century.