The Cranach House was built in the years 1547 to 1549 by the Renaissance master builder Nikolaus Gromann for the ducal chancellor Christian Brück. Its present name reminds of the presence of the painter Lucas Cranach the Elder, who spent his last months here. [German]
The Johannbau, a wing of the former Residenzschloss Dessau, houses the Dessau City Museum (Museum für Stadtgeschichte). The edifice was built in the style of Early Renaissance and is a remain of the palace which was destroyed in World War II. [German]
This house sign is placed at a Renaissance building in Erfurt, generally known as the Haus zum Stockfisch (House to the Stockfish). Present-day this edifice houses the municipal museum of Erfurt. [German]
This Renaissance portal dating back to 1568 can be found at the address Jacobiturmstraße 32 in the city of Stralsund. The three terracotta panels are considered to be created in the workshop of the sculptor Statius von Düren.
Windowfront of the Vogelsang mill (Vogelsangmühle), a Renaissance building in Poysdorf. The building makes a sunken impression but actually it was the nearby street which has been raised in course of time.
The municipal museum (Stadtmuseum) of Erfurt is placed inside a 17th century Renaissance building. The present-day function of the building is indicated by eleven red cubes showing the letters S T A D T M U S E U M. At the portal of the edifice there is a nice house sign featuring a stockfish.
The house Zum Breiten Herd (to the wide stoven) in one of the most beautiful Renaissance buildings in Erfurt. It is located at the former fish market (Fischmarkt) of the city. In the five fields below the first row of windows you can spot depictions of the five senses.
In 1518 German mathematician Adam Ries went to Erfurt and ran a mathematics school there. At the ‘House to the black bugle’ (Haus zum Schwarzen Horn) two of his mathematic books were published by printer Mathes Maler.