The Commandantenhus was built as the administrative seat of the Swedish garrison commander in the years 1748-1751. Together with other historical buildings, it adorns the Alte Markt (Old Market Square) of Stralsund. A striking allusion to its former function is the large coat of arms in its gable field.
On the manhole covers in Füssen you can see the local city arms. Even though the name of the town origins from a latin word (fauces) the coat of arms refers to the later interpretation of the word Füssen which sounds like the German term Füße. Especially in Bavarian areas, this term is used for legs.
The manhole covers in Rostock display the city arms. The coat of arms dating back to 1367 depicts a golden griffin of a blue field (representing the former princes of Rostock) with bars of silver and red (the colours of the Hanseatic League). As a member of the Hanseatic League the city is named Hansestadt Rostock.
The manhole covers in the Thuringian capital Erfurt show the city arms. The wheel in this coat of arms is derived from the Wheel of Mainz (Mainzer Rad). This is an indication of the time when Erfurt formed part of the archbishopric of Mainz.
The manhole covers in Kühlungsborn show the city arms. The coat of arms displays three silver seagulls in a blue field. The title Ostseebad refers to the fact, that Kühlungsborn is a seaside resort on the Baltic Sea (Ostsee).
The manhole covers in Graz show the city arms. It is a Panther with flames from all body openings. The depiction is similar to the Styrian coat of arms. However, the Styrian Panther is horned and has only a flame from his mouth, since 1926.
This manhole cover near Friedenstein Castle (Schloss Friedenstein) in Gotha shows the coat of arms of Thuringia. With the inscription it promotes the foundation “Thüringer Schlösser und Gärten“. This foundation takes care of about thirty castles, monasteries and parks in Thuringia. The main office of the foundation is at Heidecksburg Castle.
The manhole covers in Leipzig display the local city arms. The lion represents the Margraviate of Meissen (Markgrafschaft Meissen) and the pales called the Landsberg Pales (Landsberger Pfähle) represent the Margraviate of Landsberg (Markgrafschaft Landsberg).
The manhole covers in Coburg show the city arms. They display the head of Saint Maurice, the patron of the city. According to legend, Saint Maurice died as leader of the Theban Legion a martyr’s death in the 3rd century. In general, this depiction of him is known as Coburger Mohr (Coburg Moor).
This mural at the tower of the old town hall displays a compilation of seals and coat of arms related to Munich. The dates tell when each emblem was in use. The Old Town Hall (Altes Rathaus) was the domicile of the municipality until 1874. Today it serves as a building for representative purposes for the city council in Munich.
The manhole covers in Munich display the ‘Münchner Kindl‘, who is also in mentioned in the city arms. Though in the Bavarian dialect Münchner Kindl simply means Munich child, the original meaning of the figure was a monk or friar.
This coat of arms, seen at an old building in Schwangau, displays the coat of arms of the kingdom of Bavaria introduced in 1835. The date above the crown has to be read as 1844. In former times the 4 had been written as half 8.