The castle in Wels is generally known as the Castle (Die Burg) or as the Wels Castle (Die Welser Burg). It was first mentioned in 776. At that time, the site was just a wooden building with palisades. The construction in stone took place in the 12th or 13th century.
The municipal museum of Weimar is housed in the Bertuchhaus. This former residential and commercial building was built in the years 1780/1803 in classicistic style. Its name goes back to the then owner Friedrich Justin Bertuch, who worked as a writer and publisher.
On 17 October 1797, France and Austria signed the Treaty of Campo Formio in this villa. This event ended the War of the First Coalition. Today, the edifice houses a collection of antique carriages and an armoury. In addition, the villa is a popular venue.
This showcase in the Romantikerhaus in Jena recalls that Johann Wolfgang von Goethe also worked as a scientist. So he dealt with the incisive bone. Contrary to his assumption, he was not the discoverer of this bone.
Haus Kemnade, first mentioned in 1410, now houses a restaurant and several museums. In addition to the musical instrument collection Grumpt and the East Asian Art Collection Ehrich, a nearby farmhouse and a bee museum complement the cultural offer.
The State Museum Schwerin (Staatliches Museum Schwerin) was opened in 1882. It is built in neo-renaissance style. At the time of its construction, it was considered the authoritative museum building. Particularly well-known exhibits are the animal representations of the French painter Jean Baptiste Oudry and the objects of Marcel Duchamp.
For many years, the Gastein collector Hans Breyer (1927-1997) collected gramophones, radios and cameras. The Schinderhaus houses this collection (Technische Sammlung Hans Breyer), making it accessible to visitors to Bad Hofgastein.
The Mineral Museum is housed in a modern-looking building in a quiet district of Bad Hofgastein. The collector of the pieces is often present and then likes to tell the story of the pieces he has collected.
The Knappenwelt (Pitmen’s World) is a compilation of structural evidence of late medieval gold and silver smelting in Pongau. The reconstructed plant shows a roasting furnace, a smelting furnace and a cupellation furnace as they were in operation from 1490 to 1520. During guided tours, the water-powered stamp battery is demonstrated.
In one of his stories, Erich Kästner sits on a garden wall and watches the action on Albertplatz. The garden belonged to his uncle’s villa. Today, this villa houses the Erich Kästner Museum in Dresden.
The Johannbau, a wing of the former Residenzschloss Dessau, houses the Dessau City Museum (Museum für Stadtgeschichte). The edifice was built in the style of Early Renaissance and is a remain of the palace which was destroyed in World War II.
The museum for Lower Saxon ethnology and history was built in the years 1903/07 by architect Alfred Sasse in the style of historicism. Originally the museum was named Vaterländisches Museum (National Museum) but has been renamed after his founder Wilhelm Bomann in 1928.