Photo of Sigmundskron Castle taken on a train trip from Bolzano to Meran. It was first mentioned as Formicaria in 945. Around 1473 Duke Sigmund the Wealthy converted it into a fortress and changed its name to Sigmundskron. Today it houses a part of the Messner Mountain Museum.
- Messner Mountain Museum (Website)
- Sigmundskron Castle (Wikipedia)
- Castles in Italy (Directory)