The Procession of Princes (Fürstenzug) is a 102-meter-long mural applied to 23,000 Meissen porcelain tiles. The mural displays portraits of 35 members of the House of Wettin, who were rulers of Saxony between 1127 and 1904. [German]
This sundial is located on the court side of the Long Hallway (Lange Gang). The Long Hallway is the connection between the Georgenbau and the former stable building. From here, the spectators watched the tournaments in the stable courtyard (Stallhof). On the street side of the Long Hallway you can find the Procession of Princes. [German]
Strange downpipes seen at the Kunsthof in Dresden. This public art created by Annette Paul, Christoph Roßner and André Tempel produces a fun show during certain hours and rainfalls.
The German Hygiene Museum (Deutsches Hygiene-Museum) was founded in 1912 by Karl August Lingner, a Dresden businessman and manufacturer of hygiene products. Besides being a medical museum it conceives itself as a ‘forum for science, culture and society’.
The palm house on the grounds of Pillnitz Palace (Schloss Pillnitz) was opened in 1861 and is considered as one of the oldest still existing constructions of cast steel and glass in Europe.
View of the suspension railway connecting the districs of Loschwitz and Oberloschwitz in Dresden. The pic was taken from a passing paddle steamer driving along the river Elbe. The pecularity of this suspension railway (Schwebebahn) is the fact that it is cable-drawn like a funicular railway.
The manhole covers in Dresden display the city arms of the city. The lion represents the Margraviate of Meissen and the poles called the Landsberger Pfähle refer to the March of Landsberg.
This is one of four sandstone masks created by Peter Makolies in the years 1982/84 They are decorating the corners of the administration building of the Saxon State Opera generally known as the Semperoper. Continue reading
The former cigarette factory building was built by architect Martin Hammitzsch in 1907. The name of the company refered to the Ottoman place Yenidze (the Greek Genisea of today) where the tobacco was bought from. Today the edifice serves as office building.