The Gothic town hall in Stralsund dates back to 13th century. You find the landmark of the city on the Old Market Square. It is considered one of the most important secular buildings of North German Brick Gothic architecture.
The Commandantenhus was built as the administrative seat of the Swedish garrison commander in the years 1748-1751. Together with other historical buildings, it adorns the Alte Markt (Old Market Square) of Stralsund. A striking allusion to its former function is the large coat of arms in its gable field.
The manhole covers in Rostock display the city arms. The coat of arms dating back to 1367 depicts a golden griffin of a blue field (representing the former princes of Rostock) with bars of silver and red (the colours of the Hanseatic League). As a member of the Hanseatic League the city is named Hansestadt…
On 27 August 1939, the first aircraft with jet engine completed its maiden flight. The machine was developed by Ernst Heinkel Flugzeugwerke and bore the type designation He 178.
The State Museum Schwerin (Staatliches Museum Schwerin) was opened in 1882. It is built in neo-renaissance style. At the time of its construction, it was considered the authoritative museum building. Particularly well-known exhibits are the animal representations of the French painter Jean Baptiste Oudry and the objects of Marcel Duchamp.
The manhole covers in Kühlungsborn show the city arms. The coat of arms displays three silver seagulls in a blue field. The title Ostseebad refers to the fact, that Kühlungsborn is a seaside resort on the Baltic Sea (Ostsee).
Schwerin is the capital city (LANDESHAUPTSTADT) of the German state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. The manhole covers in Schwerin show the city arms in the version of 1991. The depicted knight represents Henry the Lion (Heinrich der Löwe). The conspicuous flag in his hand is a gonfalon.
The orangery of Schwerin Castle (Schloss Schwerin) was built in 1853. During the era of the German Democratic Republic, the rooms were used as a Polytechnic Museum for a few years. Today, during the warm seasons, visitors can enjoy cakes and coffee in the Orangerie Café.
This fountain in the Fährstraße is a work of the sculptor Günter Kaden. The artist created the basin carved from a boulder and the three bronze figures in 2003. The Fährstraße is situated in the city of Stralsund which is part of the world heritage site ‘Historic Centres of Stralsund and Wismar’.
The ****Hotel Speicher am Ziegelsee is located inside a former granary dating back to 1939. The edifice is situated next to a lake named Ziegelsee so guests can reach the hotel by boat. The sign HOTEL SPEICHER is actually the sign of the boat station.
The traditional shop generally known as ‘Das alte Handelshaus‘ (The old merchant house) is situated at the address Schmiedestraße 11. Today it houses a chain store of a tea merchant (Tee-Maass). Even though it is a tea shop you can buy a lot of different goods, e.g. a coffee named after a local ghost: Petermännchen…
The federal state of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern was formed through the merger of the historic regions of Mecklenburg and Vorpommern after World War II. The both bull’s heads refer to Mecklenburg-Schwerin and Mecklenburg-Strelitz, the griffin is a symbol for Pomerania (Pommern), the eagle of Brandenburg refers to the Uckermark, which is divided between Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and Brandenburg today.