Ehrenburg Palace (Schloss Ehrenburg) was the residential palace of the dukes of Saxe-Coburg until 1918. It originates from a Franciscan monastery. The present façade in the English Gothic Revival style is a work by Karl Friedrich Schinkel at the beginning of the 19th century. [German]
The first mention of the old town hall (Altes Rathaus) in Bamberg dates back to 1387. The building is famous for its location on an artificial island in the Regnitz River and the façade created by Johann Anwander.
More than thirty nativity scenes are visible in the city of Bamberg. These are spread over the entire town and invite you to an exciting exploration of cribs. The range extends from historical to modern models. [German]
Renaissance facades and several corner oriels frame the Christmas market on the market square of Coburg. The oriels are known as Coburger Erker. Between the historic town hall and the former ducal chancery, visitors enjoy the Coburger Bratwurst. It is a sausage roasted over an open fire of pine cones. [German]
The manhole covers in Coburg show the city’s arms. They display the head of Saint Maurice, the patron of Coburg. This depiction of him is known as Coburger Mohr (Coburg Moor). According to legend, Saint Maurice died as leader of the Theban Legion, a martyr’s death in the 3rd century. [German]
The Coburg Riding Hall (Coburger Reiterhalle) stands near to the Ehrenburg Palace (Schloss Ehrenburg). It was built iaccording to the plans of Georg Konrad Rothbart in 1852. Theodor Behrens created the sculptural horse’s head in the tondo directly above the pointed arch portal. [German]
The New Residence (Neue Residenz) of the Bamberg Prince-Bishops has over 40 staterooms featuring stucco-work ceilings. The furniture and the tapestries originate from the 17th and 18th centuries. The rose garden of the residence offers a fine view of Michelsberg Abbey.