The old town hall (Altes Rathaus) of Bamberg was first mentioned in 1387. It is famous for its location on an artificial island in the Regnitz River and for the façade created by Johann Anwander. Today it houses a collection of Meissen porcelain and Strassbourg faience, generally known as Ludwig Collection Bamberg (Sammlung Ludwig Bamberg).
Unfortunately, the frescoes of the artist Anwander were lost over time. Today one sees a reconstruction created by the painter Anton Greiner dating back to the 1960s.