The ‘Seehas’ is a rail link between Konstanz and Engen. The name doesn’t derive from the existing fish ‘Seehase‘ (lumpsucker), but from a fabulous creature supposed to live in the western part of Lake Constance. People there believe the ‘Seehas’ is a hybrid of a rabbit and a fish. [German]
This diesel rail car of the type ÖBB 5144 stands next to the railway station hall of Semmering. It was first used in 1951. Rail travellers see this motor coach near platform 1 while passing the railway station. [German]
This Baroque abbey still offers the remains of a medieval monastery in its basement, one can reach by an elevator. The complex also includes a theme garden dedicated to the different world religions located not far away from the monastery. [German]
The monument to the Austrian writer Franz Grillparzer (1791-1872) was built in 1889 and displays scenes from his works. It is located in a public park of Vienna named Volksgarten, which is worth a visit, especially during the heyday of roses. [German]
The Sebastian Cemetery (Sebastiansfriedhof) was built in the style of an Italian Campo Santo at the end of 16th century. Among others here one can find the graves of Mozart’s widow and of Paracelsus, founder of the discipline of toxicology. [German]
The Basilica of St. Vitus (Münster St. Vitus) is located on the Abteiberg in Mönchengladbach. Together with the town hall and the Church of the Assumption (Kirche St. Mariä Himmelfahrt), it forms the historical centre of the city. Worth seeing is the Bible window from the 13th century in the choir of the church. [German]
The Wild Man Fountain (Wilder-Mann-Brunnen) has existed since the beginning of the 17th century on different fish markets in Salzburg. Water basins helped to keep the fish fresh. The fountain got its name from the sculpture, symbolizing male power and the bond with nature. [German]
The Petersberg Citadel is a well-preserved city-fortress in the centre of Erfurt. It was hardly destroyed in wars and escaped the demolition in the 19th century. A tour along the old guard’s path provides insights into the fortress architecture and panoramic views of the city’s sights. [German]
The old town hall (Altes Rathaus) of Bamberg was first mentioned in 1387. It is famous for its location on an artificial island in the Regnitz River and for the façade created by Johann Anwander. Today it houses a collection of Meissen porcelain and Strassbourg faience, generally known as Ludwig Collection Bamberg (Sammlung Ludwig Bamberg).
The Saalburg in Hesse is part of the Upper Germanic-Rhaetian Limes which is also known as a UNESCO World Heritage Site. Inside the reconstructed structures of a typical Roman fort, a museum tells about the life of the soldiers along the border.