The castle in Wels is generally known as the Castle (Die Burg) or as the Wels Castle (Die Welser Burg). It was first mentioned in 776. At that time, the site was just a wooden building with palisades. The construction in stone took place in the 12th or 13th century. [German]
The Erlangen City Museum is housed in the former town hall of the Old Town (Altstadt) on Martin- Luther-Platz. In five sections it shows the history of the city from its beginnings to the 20th century. Especially worth seeing is the depiction of the history of the Huguenots. [German]
Georg Frideric Handel (Georg Friedrich Händel) was born in Halle (Saale) in 1685 and lived in this city for 18 years.Today, his birthplace houses an exhibition on the life and work of the composer. It is generally known as the Handel House (Händel-Haus). [German]
For many years Füssen has been a centre of the lute- and violinmaking industry. In 1562, the lute maker of Füssen joined together to form the first European lute maker guild. Today one can visit an extensive exhibition about the production of lutes and violins at the museum of local history (Museum der Stadt Füssen).
The danse macabre (Totentanz) in Füssen is the oldest one of Bavaria. It was created by the painter Jacob Hiebler and can be seen as an exhibit of the museum of local history (Museum der Stadt Füssen) located in the former St. Mang’s Abbey.
At the Schell Collection, also known as Museum of Keys (Schlüsselmuseum), you can learn a lot about keys, locks, chests and jewellery boxes. Another focus is on decorative ironwork used for house signs, grave crosses, windows and doors.
The cabinet of art and natural history (Kunst- und Naturalienkammer) was created by August Hermann Francke in 1698. Today this collection is regarded as the only fully preserved cabinet of curiosities dating from the Baroque age. [German]
The Beatles Museum in Halle (Saale) shows the history of the Beatles from the foundation of the band in 1960 up to their break in 1970. It also displays material about their solo careers after 1970. The museum is located in a Baroque building erected in 1708.
The museum was established in 1967 in the buildings of the former Royal Prussian saline to Halle (Saale). In these rooms, salt is still traditionally extracted. On regular events the visitors can look over the Hallors’ shoulders during salt production. [German]